BB45: My 3 Cents!

In a socially-driven game environment such as EVE Online’s, everyone has an agenda. CCP promotes its products and has an army of volunteers to do the same; corporations and alliances deliver entertaining recruitment drives, CSM election candidates solicit for voter favour, bloggers and podcasters opine to their audiences.

In this intricate web of communication, influence and control, what part does propaganda play in your game?

I think I’ll make it early to the Monthly BB this time. I’m not a regular when it comes to participating in these EVE Blog Banter’s. On many days I still feel like an outsider still playing this game. I just pick and choose to participate at my discretion. Often deciding to participate late in the cycle of a Banter… if I even participate at all. Usually I’m left thinking for days/weeks about the Banter topic’s trying to form my opinions of them and for some I never get to that point at all and no BB here. But I do reflect on them in thought.

Wikipedia on Propaganda: a form of communication that is aimed towards influencing the attitude of a community toward some cause or position by presenting only one side of an argument. Propaganda is usually repeated and dispersed over a wide variety of media in order to create the chosen result in audience attitudes.

When it comes to EVE Online just about the whole game is full of it. Some players in this game are just full of it. CCP uses it in its marketing and I’m sure other places. The EVE Forums are full of it. Many Corps uses it for Recruitment’s and Wars. Large Alliances seem to live and bathe themselves in it, and paint their enemies with it. Even this EVE Community as well is heavily full of it… Propaganda.

And I find myself here trying to respond to this Blog Banter, by trying to write some kind of propaganda bullshit of my opinions about it. That’s just not my style and you know it. While I do enjoy the readings of others who masterfully craft their daily and weekly propaganda articles for their EVE musing and entertainment. I can’t say I personally care all that much for it really. Often I can see propaganda for what it may be and what it may aim to achieve whichever side of the fence its on. Sometimes It can have a great use for a good cause, even one I can believe in as well.

But In my personal game in how I play EVE or blog about it, I don’t really use or engage in its use. It’s just never been my style. I did though get caught in the Propaganda Myth of EVE Online, getting suckered into life in New Eden. It does work it seem.

When it comes to EVE Online I can clearly state I have No Agenda in this game other than to play and blog about it as it happens and no need for Propaganda to further some hidden agenda either. And its a rare thing in EVE for one not to have any agenda than the obvious.

So I can give a rats ass about Propaganda, EVE Propaganda, Politics, EVE Politics and the EVE Meta Game. That’s where I stand on all that. And that’s my personal Propaganda and I’m sticking to it!

For more opinions and contributions to this BB discussion fly over to Freebooted for: Blog Banter 45

7 comments

  • This has been a party political broadcast on behalf of the Anarchist movement.

  • I would argue that simply writing a public blog post about your personal dislike of propaganda already defeats your purpose. >_> Even if you’re simply writing a post that your friends will like and +1, you’re already influencing that small circle.

    • Propaganda has a more specific meaning than just “opinion piece.” Everyone should dislike propaganda.

    • My Blog and what I usually write from the very beginning spanning 6 years are my opinions and my personal thoughts on things as they are, as well opinions not aimed at influencing anyone in particular. Nor do I often present anything one sided in argument meant to selectively influence my audience or arouse and emotional response. There is a difference between an opinion and propaganda.

  • Pingback: Blog Banter 45 – Hello, My name is “Puppet” « 2nd Anomaly From the Left

  • Pingback: We need Enemies! | A journey through the mind

  • Pingback: BB 45 Yeah Me’s and Boo Them’s | A Missioneer in Eve

Leave a Reply

