60 Days of EVE Online

Life in EVE is not one of forced choice, Life in EVE is simply what you choose to make of it!

EVE Star System Map showing how huge a universe and few places I've seem to have been though traveled huge distances.

Its been a while since I’ve written much about my life in the huge universe of EVE. Time seems to go by so fast. I just realize recently its been a little past 60 days since I started on my adventure as a capsuleer in New Eden.

I was somewhat inspired back then by Tobold’s experiment on trying out EVE Online when he had picked up the 2 weeks trial and was seeing what the game was like. I was curious as well and decided to try it out myself and form my own opinions and decide for myself if EVE had a place for me despite reading various things some people said or felt about the game fair or otherwise. I like to read other peoples review of games with interest, but my decision on whether I pick up or play a game is eventually my own and usually its by trying it out myself and giving it a fair try.

Most I knew about EVE was that I had heard about it several years ago when it was in Beta and missed actually playing the game at that time picking up Secondlife at the time. All those years I remained curious of the game but for some unknown reason I never got around to ever actually playing it though I knew it was a Space MMO game. I remember some time ago reading somewhere I can’t remember and seeing some YouTube video of some guy mining in EVE who got shot, lost his ship and was very upset about loosing his ship and it was pretty verbal the video on YouTube video. I though that was so funny it was unbelievable. I couldn’t help remaining curious about the game though had yet to try the game though it had been out for a while. And really that’s all I knew about EVE and all the here say.

So its been little past 60 days since I picked up the 14 day trial of EVE. I played the game every single day! I didn’t try it one day and quit, played it one week and gave up nor did I play it “Off line” whatever the hell that mean and expect to be good at knowing what the hell I’m doing. Some people may choose to be a bit lazy to play just because it takes time to acquire skills in EVE and elect to log in a few mins, queue up some skills, log out, come back later and hope to be good at it. I didn’t play EVE like that either, I actually played the damn game, every day at least a few hrs a day. The true skill playing EVE in my opinion comes from actually playing and living it and learning from your experience while you acquire the skills to become a more effective capsuleer. And I’m not sure how you ever learn that if you never log in to play the game vs just queueing up skills like some people do. Did fall asleep some days on long 20+ Stargate jumps though but its high sec so not much happens on long trips through secure space.

I can say after 60 days burning warp plasma, I find the game very challenging with some depth and complex enough to fill my need for a complex game. Eve is what you make of it given the wide range of stuff you can do playing the game where everything you choose to do or not do is a choice in the life you choose in New Eden. And I guess that what seem to confuse a lot of people from other games trying out EVE. You don’t pick a role to play or be stuck with, you live a life you choose to live and carve out your destiny wherever that takes you in the universe of EVE and hopefully in some way if persist long enough just maybe in some small way shape the ever unfolding story of EVE.

Life for me started as a rookie at Hedion University a NPC Corp. You start that life in the somewhat protection of a NPC corp vs a player corp. Player Corps cannot go to WAR with NPC or training corps that everyone starts in. Many people not playing EVE assume that is so. Player corps can go to war with other player corps. If your impatient rookie and leave your noob NPC Corp and join a regular player corp all is fair at that point if your on the receiving end of a war notice via a “Wardec” for whatever reason usually started one way or another by actions of a member of that corp or for some stupid reason. The enemy corp just pay a bribe to the empire police Concord basically and they sanction the war between the corp that initiated the war and the other that hold a grudge against. You do get a fair 24 hrs notice before the game start via in-game mail that you been Wardecked! For people not playing EVE many seem to assume as a new player you get shot and go to war starting life in EVE, that’s a myth!

The new players that often get shot in EVE starting out  quite often do really dumb stuff and get shot. Simply no other way to say that. New rookie players often do stuff they shouldn’t do, do dumb stuff, go where they shouldn’t go and go there despite being told not to and then complain that they lost their new ship. Really new players do a lot of dumb stuff. You only need to spend a day in the new player rookie chat that every rookie player gets put into for 30 days period and read the chat often to see and hear the kind of dumb stuff people do. And the ones that often can’t cut it seem to quit getting over the hump of a learning curve.

Actual chat I remember from Rookie chat: “Hey I just started playing this game, what’s this game about”. “Whats the purpose of this game”. “I just started playing 40 seconds ago and lost my ship, where can I get another one” Help, I was in new ship and I don’t know what happened but now I’m in a pod. Where is my ship?” Hey, a friend wanted to test out his ship and told me to attack him to see how it would go and police came and shot me”. Hey I keep loosing my ship is it worth doing these tutorial missions?”. I just started playing and don’t know what I’m doing, but want a Battleship, how fast can I get one?”

Funnest thing about my first 30 days in EVE really, was the daily read of the Rookie chat. It was just too funny to read. I kinda miss it now its gone because after 30 days it goes away and your on your own to use other chat, your corps chat and other help chat if need.

So for my time at Hedion University as a rookie in high sec space, it was a peaceful existence as a rookie in EVE. I actually did all the tutorial missions and learned everything I could from doing them. And if I had a recommendation for someone trying out EVE it would be to actually do the Tutorial Missions starting out as they really help a tremendous amount in helping you to understand EVE. And saying that the tutorial do they best to help you to learn a bit about how to go about doing things in EVE but they no way do a full job in helping you to understand all the complexities of all the different things in EVE to learn. That’s where a Corp and the people in it comes in to learning all those other things because there is allot to learn about playing EVE and depending on which area of EVE space you live in it’s a completely different world. Life in High sec, Low sec, Null Sec, Wormhole space is all different to each other in EVE.

It was funny at times to read people asking the same stuff over and over that if they did the tutorials missions they would get the answer. If you do the tutorial missions you also get a several new ships from doing all the missions as well as a lot of skill books to learn various skills. So they are worth doing starting out in EVE as a rookie.

But starting out in EVE life mainly was mostly doing faction tutorial agent missions of various kind and some involving mining or teaching you how to mine if you realize tutorials are supposed to teach you how to play the game in various ways.

Eventually a little after 2 weeks playing EVE and picking up a subscription i felt i learned enough of the basics playing EVE and applied and moved on to a player corporation. I had applied and joined a small recently started corporation that had around 7 players at the time. Total we have 21 Corp members currently. From that point most of everything else I learned in-game was through the help of my new corp. Life in my new corp involved some salvaging of missions as an opportunity to make some ISK (money) when the opportunity was available with older veteran players doing higher lvl missions lvl 4 and 5 at the time. In the last 6 weeks being in our players Corp we’ve been Wardec gee about 5 times I think. Some was for crazy reasons, but our corp survived every one and the war was over in a day or two.

In over 60 days of EVE I’ve only lost 5 ships so far. I fully expect to loose more ships thats how life is in EVE, never get too attached to your ships. 1 ship I was issued for a mission and had to blow it up on a Tutorial Training mission. 2 Destroyers were Salvage ships I lost in helping Corp mates in high lvl 4 & 5 mission wreckage cleanup when i got targeted by drones and went poof. 2 Frigates I lost in 1 hour in a Drone Assembly site Anomaly Exploration site that had drones burning holes in my ship armor and played around too long and lost one ships there. Often learning experiences.

For a new player I made a bit of money initially Salvaging. But money burns a hole in your pocket fast in EVE as that money was invested into expensive Implants to assist with attribute skills to speed up rate of learning training skills and buying books for skill training which some can be quite expensive for a new person. At that time I invested in a fleet of ships to do Salvaging and did a bit of that which helped a bit in making money. I hardly spent time mining during those times. You can do other things besides mining in EVE and for me Salvaging was fun and became good at doing it.

As life settled in EVE spent time locating a suitable Agent and NPC Corp Agent to work for. In EVE you don’t really get sent to agents. You have to go looking for one to work for if you so choose. So I did and started out doing lvl 1 missions which also increased my standing with my faction and the NPC Agent Corp I worked for. You can work for almost any NPC Agent starting out that you can do missions for and progressively increase in standing which allow you in time to do harder missions increasing in lvl. Currently I’ve only progressed to doing lvl 2 missions with my Agent and that’s because I only sometime show up to do missions with my Agent. On most days I just log on and do whatever I feel like that day. Yesterday my agents send me notice that they was displeased with me because I haven’t shown up to do any mission assignment for them. Oh well I’m busy with other things in my life in Eden.

So I’ve been blowing off my agents in EVE. I haven’t checked to see if he deducted any standing with their displeasure either. I haven’t really cared all that much either. I’ve had some preoccupation with setting up Planetary Interaction manufacturing on various planets and running production. Sometimes I’ve taken my mining ship my Retriever out for a spin around the asteroid belts and mine some asteroid for the fun of it when I felt like it or when needed some minerals to run my Industrial base making manufactured items from Blueprints BPO’s. I’ve taken quite a liking to running industrial manufacturing producing widgets I can sell for profit trading.

Though I should or could be doing missions to eventually make more money with harder missions. I’ve chosen at the moment life running trade operations across my region. I didn’t start life in EVE rich! I don’t buy Plex, which some new player use paying to turn real cash into game ISK which is worth hundreds of millions. I could if I wanted to. But its more fun to me figuring out how to actually make money in EVE starting from the bottom broke!

So lately these days I haven’t bothered to visit my agent. Haven’t done much mining which many people outside of EVE seem to think that’s all you could do playing the game. Some people in my Corp like to mine and do that daily and make good money with it. Life these days consist of running my little trade empire which started by pure accident and working at it currently. However my trading started during the time I was doing agent missions and just selling the stuff I collected on missions and selling them on the market to make ISK which by itself wasn’t much. That lead to salvaging my own missions and collecting the salvage loot for making Rigs with the salvaged parts which I made with Blueprints.

That was backed up by allocating a bit of my Skill Training into Trade skills since I liked trading. That led to me selling more stuff on the market in my region. Later branched out selling a few things at one other station in a neighboring system one jump away. Eventually I had 2 stations selling stuff doing small time trading and that lead to setting up a few other test stations to do more trade across my region testing which stations can work for trading hub. Business is still growing.

But that took some time to develop my station trading hubs and route moving stuff between regions to sell. So these days I have 6 stations I trade in close to my current system and 2 stations outside my region less than 8 jumps away that I trade goods in. I’ve trained myself in Day Trading skills so I can do less running around and work my trades from one station when I don’t need to move stuff. In the beginning I traded bulky item ship parts in EVE or widgets I like to call them. One day I was looking for a Blueprint and noticed some room in the market to make a profit which lead to opportunity moving Blueprints from one region to another where I could make some good profit. That lead to me doing a bit of Shuttle work moving Blueprints across my region at various stations in my little trade network. This was day-to-day life. Some people PvP, Some do missions, Some players mine, Some explore, and many other things.

Running my Blueprint Trade business I saw some profit to be made exploiting trade in higher education or moving skill books, so I did slowly buying inventory and selling and reinvesting my profits into buying more inventory to move for trade. This was how I was making me money, Trading on the market and hedging my bets. If it goes bad I’ll go bankrupt in a big way, but i doubt that. Trading allowed me to buy some the expensive skill books I needed to increase my skills and buy a small fleet of Industrial Ships, Salvage Ships, Mining Ship, several Frigates and a few new Covert Ops ships.

While doing trading on the market I’ve found I really like doing Exploration in EVE which includes Scanning and Probing deep space to find hidden signatures and Wormholes. I happen to be also very good at Scanning and Probing for Exploration as well. So at times spend a bit of time working on my exploration skills and exploring anomalies. Exploring Wormholes remain a fascination and hope to do more of it in on a daily basis and probably at some point probably make the move from living in high sec space in EVE to possibly living in more dangerous and interesting Wormhole space. That a long-range goal with a possibility of a POS (Player Owned Station).

Lots one can do in EVE, but in the end it’s all what you choose to do with your life in Eden and for everyone playing that can be very different things. A bit pass 60 days in I’m pretty comfortable in knowing how to do things and play the game living in high security space. I’ve never been ganked (yet), never got shot at (yet), been targeted but not shot at. Living in high security space is relatively safe unless your dumb enough to PVP with someone that clearly has superior skills to you and a superior ship. Or dumb enough to be tricked into attacking another player for whatever reason taking the bait. Living in low security space, null security space and Wormhole space is all a different world in EVE to each other and from living in high security space.

EVE has a lot of complexities much more than any other game I know by far. You do learn many new things everyday, but the basic flow of how to play the game living in high sec space just goes about life as normal these days. Its less dramatic than the other areas of EVE which I hope to see sometime soon.

Think I fell asleep writing this post, I started before midnight and looks like daylight is up.

One comment

  • Very nice introduction to EVE. I’ve tried the trial before, but gave up after just a day. I didn’t really knew what to expect, but I suppose I had been looking for instant dog fighting.

    After reading about your little trading empire I’m curious again. I’ve always liked trading in games and this could be a fun game for me, it seems 🙂

Leave a Reply

