1000th Blog Posts, End of My EVE Era

Screen Shot 2014-05-10 at 2.30.16 PM

The Magic 1000.

Officially its my 1001 Blog Post. But It’s a very long way to get to 1000 posts over somewhere between 7-8 years I think since started blogging for fun, along side playing the various games I’ve played. 4 of those last years have been blogging about EVE Online. It was very tough in the beginning, having no idea what I would ever write about. 1000 Blog Post surely never entered my mind and a huge milestone for any blogger to eventually reach.

This blog has been my companion alongside all the games I’ve played since its has existed way back before playing EVE. It has seem me progressively through WoW, STO, EVE. I’ve played GW2 but never played it much to blog about it. I’ve played TSW but I never gotten around to blogging about it either, but it was one of the better games I’ve enjoyed in recent times. Over time it got easier as one gets used to blogging. Blogging changes as your interest in the games you play changes as well. Time changes, life changes as well so do your interests in things and how you view the things you’ve always looked at. Regular readers notice it as well as your blog activity level drops off greatly.

For me I’ve found my blogging activity and game interest goes hand in hand blogging more when I have more interest in a game and less as my interest falls off. In time you find other things of interest and you move on. Such is life. And in moving on this blog will as well in the games I play, the name ever remaining the same though the look may change. Given my lack of any great blogging activity I should have reached 1000 blog posts many months ago. But I just couldn’t be bothered that much to write much about anything and I wasn’t playing EVE much as my only MMO game. But its a milestone, and I’ve gotten there by sheer persistent over the years when so many other bloggers have quit along the way. Cheers!

End of my EVE Era

I’ve recently reached 4 years of EVE, that’s a very long time to be playing just one game. Maybe not as long as you, but its a lot of years. In the time I’ve played EVE I’ve worked for 2 Companies and one Educational Institution. Life has passed by and lots of things have happened. Time… it goes by so quickly these days. Compared to my first 2-3 years of EVE in blogging activity I haven’t blogged that much in the last year. In the last 6 months or so I really haven’t blogged much. You probably noticed that If you’ve been here regularly as a reader.

My last real activity in EVE in all those months was doing a bit of research at my Large Research Tower. At some point I reached what was the end for me just doing research. It wasn’t everything but it was enough at the time. I didn’t play EVE much, I had less interest to log in and play any real part of the game. I blogged less about playing EVE as well. RL was a bit more busy, things in RL was also more of an interest. As a single guy in RL you just don’t plan to be single forever. So you just choose to spend more time in RL working on the that. That itself is reason enough to play EVE much less. Gaming takes a back seat as it’s just not that important than RL issues, Job scheduling and other things of interest.

So I just played EVE less and less. I mostly logged into EVE to do Skill Fu as well making monthly supply of Fuel Blocks to keep the Research Tower afloat. I just couldn’t decide what I was going to do next if anything at all with the tower. So I just kept the Tower fully fueled month after month with no research ongoing at the Tower. Yet in all that time I was thinking about whether to keep playing EVE or not. It also didn’t help that year after year I felt more bitter about playing EVE vs positive about it. The Bitterness Syndrome I guess. The EVE Community at times can feel toxic and even toxic waste gives off fumes that’s not good for one’s health.

About a month ago after months of thinking I reached some consensus sitting on top the fence. At that point I knew I was going thru the Captains Quarters Door and If I quit it was going to be permanent. EVE in my own mind is the kinds game when I really leave I didn’t want to return to. And so that set in motion the next thing to do. About a month ago I finally logged in and spend a Saturday afternoon I think it was taking down the Large Research Tower. It was the longest I’ve spent in EVE time wise in months. It took what seemed like forever to take down the Tower and I didn’t find it fun at all either. But I took the entire thing down and abandoned the system moon. It was just a matter of time before I was gone as well.

I then logged onto my EVE Account online and cancelled my Account. And if you wondered I gave no real reason as none of them really matched anyway. So if CCP is wondering why people quit they may not always give a good reason. For me I just didn’t find EVE all that fun anymore and looking into the future I just didn’t see me putting a great deal of time into the game. I was pass that point already. Barely played much, I barely logged in. Month after month for almost 4 years minus about 4 months I paid my bill to CCP on 2 accounts mostly happily all those years.

The EVE community can sometime feel toxic and its funny how players can be against each other based on their respected play styles as not belonging. You know its tough enough to get new players into EVE as it is. Yet sometimes It can feel like some of the more vocal forces want to push others out of the game because they choose to play the game a certain way. It’s a Sandbox, play however you want. Whats important is that your here in the universe. I helped pay the bills at CCP just like anyone else that pays hard cash monthly to CCP. Not everyone that plays EVE pays CCP in cash. But I did. I supported CCP paying monthly for my 4 years of EVE. If I’m feeling neglected in EVE its foolish to keep paying month after month till some distant future point.

And yes even though I was in a corp with management roles, I was also still mostly a solo player. I helped out my corp whenever I could, if I could as it was something I could do or knew how to do well. Often I helped out my long time friend since beginning EVE with his corp through the years. I might have been a mostly solo player playing how i choose to play EVE but I still interacted with others and the community greatly. My mind was made up much before Fanfest after taking down the Research Tower and canceling my account almost a month ago. Today my accounts officially runs out.

In knowing how CCP tends to cater to a certain section of EVE it leaves me not much confidence that others that play in High Sec or Solo will likely continue to be neglected. maybe it won’t be so, but that’s my perception as well reality. CCP had a tendency I’ve noticed over the years of seemingly dropping the ball often it seems. And despite what seem like a good Fanfest 2014 overall minus the DUST/Legion snafu, I’m not inclined to change my mind and stick around.

I’m sticking to moving one to whatever is next. And at this point, there is no next. So for now I can enjoy playing nothing and do more in RL. Even watching Youtube for a while on many days seem like lots of fun as well as binge watching some Netflix.

Last Act

One of my very last EVE activity today I almost forgot about was visiting my Research Agents and cash out all my Research Points. I haven’t visited them in a very long time. So I warp speed across 5 regions of space in my Buzzard as it was the only ship left on one character and contracted almost 2800 Datacores. Lucky enough on my second character I had my usual ship of choice and took the Crane for one last spin making a similar run through another couple of regions and collected a similar amount. I guess it be the last time I’ll ever see my Agents.

In ensuring that I don’t somehow sneak back into EVE through some tiny wormhole somewhere in my house, I decided to strip all of my characters on my 2 EVE accounts of all their assets. Assets that I’ve worked hard over the last 4 years to acquire and grow through all my Industrial and Market Activities growing up in EVE. And in stripping all my characters I decided it was much better to give it all away, than to be gone from EVE with all those assets remaining unused on my account.

I’ve never killed any of my characters in any games I’ve ever played. To me I feel some attachment to them in some way. But I figure short of entering the realm of Doomheim to ensure I don’t return to New Eden stripping all my characters of everything they have worked for was the best thing. Making them penniless with no assets whatsoever only retaining their skills. I see no reason at that point to ever return to any of my characters.

But I figured someone was going to ask me for my stuff. Don’t they always. And I figured I’d likely say the first person to ask gets it all. Didn’t quite like that idea in a meaningful way. So I’ve given away all my assets to 2 people. One was my longest and closest friend in EVE since starting EVE. My friend Paul who I met in my very first player Corp and have remained friends to this day. For 4 years in EVE we shared a chat window even though we were in different corp and seen him through several Corps over the years though mostly his own corp with a few members. And to the second person I gave the rest of my remaining assets I consider a blogging friend as well. That person has been the longest supporter of this blog and closest in relation in play style. I’m sure he’ll make good use of all those assets as well, however he chooses to some good use.

There comes a point in time and life when we all will realize and choose to move on from a game and do other things for our own reasons. You may never fully understand just why that is, and some of your own reasons may likely be as valid too as to why. In the end each reason they add up collectively to form a complete decision of things over the years. But in the end, we will all move on at some point and so will you too at some point eventually.

Whats behind the CQ door? I guess a wormhole back to reality with a cure for Bitterness Syndrome. No wonder that door won’t easily open.

13 comments

  • Have been thinking very much a long the same lines, though I may just consolidate some characters in to fewer accounts instead of pulling the pin completely.

    I’ve been following your blog for some time. Sorry to see you go. Some bloggers do come back, but I get the feeling you’re not going to be one of them.

    Travel safe. Good luck out there.

  • 1,000 blog posts is actually very impressive, and worth acknowledging. Well done!

    I am going to miss your EVE posts – you seemed to have a knack of picking up the relevant updates and changes I missed, and your tales and experiences were always relevant to me. Your efforts were very much appreciated.

    As you pick up a different game to distract you or spend more time in RL, I wish you all the very best of luck in finding happiness.

  • Best of luck to you out there. I’ve been a loyal reader since the day you started and I’ve enjoyed every one of those 1k posts. Nothing lasts forever and all that is left to say is keep the courage. Enjoy whatever it is you do next. You should leave the blog up if you can, for those that come after.

    Godspeed.

  • Thanks. The community will be missed. This Blog will always be here just as it has from the beginning in other games as well all its content. All though I’ve been an EVE player for years, this blog has never been EVE centric in Name or Theme, being a MMO Blog. It makes it easy to at some point moves on in time eventually with the same name. It only just so happened I mostly played EVE as well being apart of the community. In time the blog may just slightly change to reflect whatever I do next in time, in continuation of my adventures into whatever comes next. It won’t go away nor its content. The adventure may just change thats all. For now its just clear horizons.

    Though I may not play EVE. I’ll be around some where, as I do still read lots of blogs. It helps to know things.

  • You’ll be missed. I’ve been following your blog since the WoW days. You’ve always had an interesting perspective on things and a willingness to explain what you’re thinking that made for good reading.

    I found your comments about why you’re leaving familiar since my thoughts often run along the same lines. Hopefully CCP reads this post of your’s, others like it and finally wakes up and smells the coffee before they’re left with nothing but goons and their ilk.

    I continue playing Eve mainly for 2 reasons:

    1. There just isn’t another game that really catches my interest.
    2. Eve is free to play for those with any talent at all for making ISK.

    P.S Yes, the ISK I pay for my accounts with really is free because I farmed it myself! ;)

  • Fly safe where ever the wind blows you. I will keep checking in and see which game is next on your list.

    Btw, I feel the same, am taking a break and have not yet pulled the plug. I really want to see what kind of new area CCP is cooking up. If that is just an extension of nullsec, I too will leave New Eden

  • Sorry to see you go, but best of luck in your post-Eve life. You have more resolve than I would; I have only been able to step away for a while while keeping the skills going, but I always come crawling back. Like someone who lets their lover beat them, but they keep sticking around because “Eve loves me. She only beats me because it’s good for me.”
    Congrats on 1000! Truly a great accomplishment.

  • Fair winds and following seas!

  • Pingback: Leaving EVE | Pilgrim in Exile

  • I really enjoyed reading your insightful views of New Eden and I am sorry that the satisfaction is gone. Wish you the best of luck in your future and I hope that maybe someday our paths may cross again. Farewell friend.

  • Fly safe, mate!

  • Congratulations on reaching 1,000 posts. That’s a great achievement. I’m sorry to see you leave EVE Online, but nothing lasts forever.

    Best of luck in all that you do.

  • Thanks everyone.

Leave a Reply

