A Real Life Project… Years Delayed

Moving and changing jobs was a good thing for a lot of reasons. It can also really be a life disruptor that sometime has a way of refocusing you to pay attention to other things you just may have neglected to do. My current interest in EVE and MMO gaming in general is really not that great at the moment, though I may still play occasionally. Something I’ve really been meaning to do for a long time has been staring me in the face for years but just neglecting to work on it. After staring back at it for a long while I decided I’ll spend more time in RL to do things but to also work on an old real life project I really need to do. It’s so way past due!

Way back before I started playing Online Games and MMO’s I had other hobbies like Astronomy and Marine Aquariums. In particular I used to spend the time doing Reef Keeping maintaining a Salt Water Marine Aquarium. Somehow along the way I got distracted playing Online Games and MMO’s. But for years maintaining a Reef Aquarium was very much a hobby I also enjoyed very much.

Years back I started in the hobby learning much about Reef Keeping and with a little 20 gallon Salt Water Aquarium. Slowly over time and years worked my way up maintaining and moving up to a 55, 90 gallon aquarium enjoying the hobby. Eventually I made the huge leap forward in the hobby purchasing and moving up to a 180 gallon custom pre-drilled glass Tank/Stand. That was back in early 2005 and a huge investment for a custom glass Tank/Stand.

A very empty 180 gallon Aquarium Tank.

A very empty 180 gallon Aquarium Tank.

A 180 gallon aquarium tank is huge! Setting up such a tank is an often huge and expensive project. One that you also have to get right from the very beginning and does require you to take your time. It’s far from easy to make changes after a huge aquarium is all done and completely setup. The plan back then was to set up the aquarium as a project with some planning as to how to properly go about doing so. Somehow I got sidetracked and never got around to doing it.

That was 8 years ago! I can’t believe that much time has passed either.

I never sold or got rid of the aquarium, yet I saw it every single day with it quietly reminding me that I have yet to start working on the project to set it up. When I moved a few months ago I never sold the aquarium either, but I could have. Would have made some good money selling it as it was perfectly unused. I had decided when my moving was complete I’d eventually work on getting back into the aquarium Reef Keeping hobby and finally go about setting up my 180 gallon aquarium tank. It would be the perfect time after a move. Putting off that project for 8 years is a long time while distracted by such things as playing MMO games.

I think it’s about time I finally start working on my old hobby project. I don’t think anyone will complain about that or should! It’s a very time-consuming hobby. Yet I’ve forgotten much about the Hobby after that time as well.

 

3 thoughts on “A Real Life Project… Years Delayed

  1. evehermit

    Look forward to seeing some pictures. If you haven’t already, get the tank checked by a professional before starting the re-fill process. I was warned that if a tank was left dry for a long period of time the sealant tended to lose strength.

    Reply
    1. Ardent Defender Post author

      I haven’t exactly started doing anything to the tank itself. Nothing other than really looking at it and trying to figure out how i want to go about setting it up and if and how things will fit. Setting up an Reef Aquarium is not exactly a fast process in the planning stage. Most especially the under tank area which is what I’m mostly trying to figure out and will need a sump or a custom made ordered sump. So a bit far from filling it. But yeah will definitely be checking for leaks when get to that point. The tank has been sitting in a relatively temp cool area all these years in my living room.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

