Why I play DUST514 & How DUST 514 Cost me $700!

WeaponsHeader_blog

I’m an open-minded gamer! I play games to have fun (even if its fewer games), entertain myself in some way and quite possibly find some distraction from the worries of RL. Quite possibly we all do that. I’m also not married to any game, but I’m committed to any game I’ve chosen to invest my time into. In such I call myself a Focus Gamer in what few games I tend to play with just more focus. I had always thought DUST 514 by CCP Games was an interesting concept even though I never really played any modern FPS like all the popular ones today on the market. I never had time to try those other FPS games.

What I’ve always thought about when I went about daily life in EVE and doing all the other things was, gee nice looking planet over there, such a shame no one seems to live there. Another thing is I’ve grown as a customer to like CCP Games even if at time I may have my own gripes in some small way like you may too when things get changed, your favorite thing get nerfed or when you feel you were wronged on your favorite Spaceship. I like CCP Games for what I think is the Renegade that lives within the heart of CCP Games to always dare to do something different than what most other game companies tend to do or follow more of the same old same thing. CCP Games tend to listen to their customers and on feedback and work things out much more than other games to me. And that to me is worth supporting.

When DUST 514 went into Beta Sign Up last year around April 2012 I made a blog post about it DUST Storm Incoming and signed up for Beta. Did so even though I wasn’t much a FPS player. I though interesting concept tying DUST into EVE’s Universe and as a player already in EVE it seemed interesting. In early June of  2012 when DUST 514 went in Closed Beta with Mordu’s Trial I got a few Beta Invites. So I had some reasons now to play the game.

Now the funny thing was after getting the DUST 514 Closed Beta Invites… I only still had a PS2. I also had an XBox. But neither of which I had played in years since playing MMO Games, unless I was watching a DVD, though rarely. The PS2 I had I bought originally at launch to play just one game “Splinter Cell” for the PS2 which I used to like the series, probably the only shooter game I ever played much. But somewhere inside I found such games appealing on some level. And for years I never bought any other game titles. So I never upgraded to a PS3 nor a XBox 360 as I mostly just played MMO Games.

So somehow I got lucky, I got a Closed Beta Invite to play DUST 514 except I had no PS3. My PS2 just had dust on it as I never used it. So I eventually went to Gamestop and traded in my PS2 (not much for it) for a new 320 GB PS3. The new PS3 from Gamestop even came with Call of Duty MW3. That cost me $304.24 as I still got the Box with the receipt in it and Call of Duty still in the same box today in the plastic wrapper having never opened it. Somewhere I thought wait a min I though DUST 514 was going to be FTP, it’s now costed me over $300 bucks! So I got home loaded up the Closed Beta for DUST 514: Mordu’s Trial and tried to play it. I tried playing the game for an hour or so, except I could barely read anything on my TV screen and DUST 514 Beta at the time looked fuzzy on my older TV.

I barely watched TV as I played games on my PC for entertainment. So I never cared to ever upgrade my TV to some LCD LED, HDTV, Plasma or whatever the new thing was. My old TV was Just Fine! Plus I barely watched it. Except it wasn’t fine trying to play DUST 514 Beta on it. So… I went out to Best Buy and went TV Shopping not that I really cared to go TV Shopping. I eventually got a 32″ LED Insignia TV. I think it costed me at the time about $300-350 ballpark as I can’t remember exactly or find the receipt. But I was now in the hole at least $600-650 bucks for trying to play Closed Beta DUST 514: Mordu’s Trial. Hey DUST 514 Free to Play Game I thought, uhh no dude this thing costing me $650 bucks at least so far that aren’t FREE!

So plugged in the new TV and hey I can see properly on my TV now a bit better but still small fonts to read stuff, graphics looked better and not so fuzzy. And so I played DUST 514 Mordu’s Trial for about another 2 hours max. I died and I died and I died over and over and over using the PS3 controller. Wow this game is brutal!!! I turned off the PS3, DUST 514 Mordu’s Trial in June and never played it again for the entire rest of year 2012. I couldn’t really decide If DUST 514 Beta sucked, whether I totally sucked at it (Most Likely), I didn’t have enough skill or twitchy enough or what. Maybe It wasn’t my kind of game. I didn’t delete my DUST 514 Beta character though, not that I ever logged back in to even be able to do so.

But what I could have done and didn’t do was… I never wrote a blog post about it. Well I was under NDA I guess also. But even when NDA was lifted in January 2013 I believe, I still never wrote a blog post about it. I don’t exactly choose to write blog post to neither pump up my Blog Page Views or to create Drama which create Blog Page Views. But it always bothered me If DUST 514 Beta was really that bad from my first experience and could I ever become better at it.

In January 2013 when the DUST 514 Beta went into Open Beta I decided I’ll revisit this nemesis and try to give some amount of effort trying to play it. I logged in to DUST 514 Beta, my character was still there after the whole server wipe of Skill Points and he was slowly accumulating passive skill points whether logged in or not. Cool! So slowly I played here and there for a few hrs just slowly learning the game. It helped much I was already an EVE player so understanding the Skills System, Fitting and ways of New Eden was easy. I just sucked at twitchy boots on the ground based play, running and gunning and all that. Took getting used to. I accepted it as a challenge to just learn and work at getting better at that which I wasn’t used to before. And even though I played slowly a few hours here and there I still didn’t play all that much. But I never blog posted about DUST 514 Beta, I still felt I had yet to give the game a real shot in attempt.

It wasn’t until some point in late March 2013 that I again decided… you know I really need to put in some time and really give the game a good shot with my character and figure things out and just play to improve and make progress at getting better at it. And so I just played EVE Online less as I was kinda bored doing some things, so it made for a good excuse to play DUST 514 more. The great thing is… I was still in New Eden!

I’ve gotten much better at understanding playing DUST 514 which took some effort as it was brutal learning process when I really started learning things. Using the PS3 controller never worked for me, it just sucks trying to play DUST 514 for me using it. So I yet again when out and got a new Keyboard and Mouse to play DUST 514, think another $50. By that time as well players in Beta already had far better gear and tripled my character in Skill Points earned from using Active & Passive Boosters and Active Skill Points from lots of matches played. Some players just had awesome skills also. That all add up to facing menacing players in all matches. It took me over 56 deaths before I got my first Kill. It was gratifying to shoot that one first merc in the back at almost point blanc range on first kill. And as much as I wanted to just give up and quit playing DUST though, I had a fighting spirit not to quit because it wasn’t exactly easy.

It was my desire to get better at playing the game that beat out any desire internally to quit in disgust, because it wasn’t easy or with performance facing much better skilled players. I simple made a commitment to just get better at playing the game whether I died lots or not. Plus I had money already invested in playing DUST 514 as well.

I don’t know everything or claim I even know all that I should about being a FPS player or with DUST. But I do invest quite a bit of time learning and reading all that I can in DUST and tactics, just like in playing EVE Online. I can only get better which is simply the goal. I’m not likely to be ever great to be a DUST Scout or Front Assault Player, I’m not that twitchy on the fingers. I do find it a bit more fun for me in Logistic Support role backing up my squad and in Aniti-Vehicle Demolition trying to take out AV’s, LAV’s HAV’s with explosive weapons. FUN! I guess you just got to find what role your good at. It’s all a learning process just like the first time I picked up playing EVE Online, against everyone that told me EVE Online sucked and don’t play it. Obviously I never listened, but choose to research and play the game. Its how I got here as a player. I never listed to that kind of advice, often choosing to play any game myself and find out if I really liked it or not. If even to find something to like about the game.

So why exactly I play DUST 514? It’s no one reason. I’m also not as Pessimistic and overly Negative person to be willing to call any game Trash just because. But it’s partly because I also like CCP Games as a company, them willing and daring to do something different in their games. DUST 514 shows promise of what it can really be given time even if it’s not as yet, I rather start that journey now. Even EVE after 10 years still has promise of what it truly can be and still not there yet in my own opinion. DUST has depth and given time it will get much more depth as CCP improves the game.

I guess anyone that played EVE Online in the early years would likely never envisioned the game as it is today, such is my view of DUST 514 in the long view. I guess I also play DUST 514 because I invested the $$$ in getting a PS3 and a new TV last year, that made me committed in some way to not just dismiss the game. Plus another $50 bucks on the Keyboard and Mouse so in all about $700 bucks all in the name of playing DUST 514. Yeah every shot in DUST 514 is a money shot for me on payback! I play probably because I never had time to get spoiled playing those other FPS games like CoD, BF and Halo so many other players play and gotten somewhat spoiled on. But I’m not going to call those games crap just because I personally don’t play them. I just never did!

So accepting playing DUST 514 was easy as I’m still in New Eden even if it’s not up in Space in a Spaceship. I guess I play DUST 514 also because I have a desire to improve my play. It’s hard to do when you’re not exactly playing the game and I’m also just not the quitting type of player even if I fail in trying. But overall I do find DUST 514 fun to play as well.  

9 comments

  • Serpentine Logic

    I’m seriously considering getting a gaming mouse for my PS3; something I never saw the need for in my many years playing FPS on the PC.

    • I’ve used controllers a bit playing console games and fine at using it in my hand. But DUST 514 many functions are so complex as well aiming and shooting that the controller just don’t work for me. I really struggled using the controller so when I finally got a Keyboard and Mouse, it made a world of difference in the controls, fine movement as well aiming.

  • Why are you moaning about spending 700$ all the time? Bad investment? do you like the game or not?!

    I think it’s a crap at the state it is right now, I understand the concepts but the execution is not impressive. I’ve been playing a lot of FPS on PS3, not the best player I must admit but I know how things works. This game doesn’t work, customisation is complex but I dig it, the only way around getting good load is paying in AUR or waiting passively for skill points, ’cause it’s almost not possible to get them in game, why? because matchmaking sucks, YOU HAVE NO CHANCE with higher lvl players, they will mow you down before you even get through their shield. I understand its an MMO with all its good and bad things, but in normal MMO you got noob areas, not so in this game.

    Controlls… I don’t know where to start here… It’s so bad with a controller (which as it is PS3 should be at least decent) you struggle to aim at POINT BLANK, everybody is abusing this and jumping like a damn rabbits, granade trajectory is wierd, rifle fire bullets dissapear after like 70 metres, sniper rifle sway for long time and then stop completly, incentive to camp, realy anoing gameplay, I imagine a lot players will rage quit it stright away.

    I am a bit like you I give a game a second thought, but for the duration I’ve been checking the game (multiple times since early beta) nothing realy changed (significant) and I have my doubts if the development is going the right direction, it doesn’t help that AUR payment is advertised almost on every step (same as a reminder not to kill yourself in public areas) and it made me wonder, if it’s just a cash cow for CCP.

  • BTW you didn’t even answer your own question, why are you playing dust 514? because you are in New Eden?

    • Your probably new here reading my blog. No where on this blog have I ever complained anywhere about spending any kind of $$$ on any games, whether in real life or game currency in any game i’ve played before. As well my blog post is also not about complaining about $$$ spent, far from it. For the last several years this blog has mostly centered on EVE and life in New eden.

      This blog is about the games I play and my personal thoughts or whatever it happens to be that influence the games I play. So writing and sharing about some thoughts and decisions that affected how I either approached or played DUST 514 is just something I blogged about because I can and because its very pivotal in my experience in the game. I just choose to share it. However I also play DUST 514 for many reasons all of which I’ve explained in my various thoughts. Its no one reason. Yet its clearly indicated in the post I had an interest in the game far stretching all the way back before the closed beta started.

      Yet maybe DUST 514 and its concepts are new to you and all its complications. But most of what is DUST 514 outside of ground combat is not new to me as a player of EVE Online full time for several years and full time resident of New Eden. Its no big stretch for me to play DUSt 514 as i’m still in the very same New Eden Universe the same universe I’ve being playing in for the last several years.

      However I also don’t have doubts that CCP with support DUST 514 for the coming years just as they have continued to support and continually update with new expansions in EVE Online. I very much expect CCP to do the same to DUST 514 as they are both apart of the very same connected universe.

  • Hey I didn’t wanted to offend you, I just wanted to know if you like the game or not? and yes, you’ve spent like half of this article on how it was necessary for you to spend 700$ for a free game, so for me it sounded like complaining.

    I just try to understand why you choosed to play this game and not other, It’s the same in tabletop wargaming (yeah I play army men on the table, how lame), there are people that play Warhammer 40,000 and wouldn’t even try another game, even if it’s good, and that puzzles me.

    I think I understand how it’s possible to be invested emotionaly in one setting and don’t care about anything else, but variety is a spice of life and you don’t know what you are missing. Why not trying different game since you have the console allready? Every game has a potential to become another Eve or Dust for you.

    I would recommend “Journey” , left me breathless, and it takes only 2 hours to complete. One advice though, Play It ONLINE only.

    • As a gamer i consider myself more a “Focused Gamer”, meaning though I like MMO Games the games I play are a few at any particular time and I play them with focus on either being good or actually learning the game.

      That being said you probably misunderstand me about playing DUST. I actually like DUST and do enjoy the game. DUST at the moment is far from a finished game but will continue to be constantly developed and evolve by CCP. DUST takes place in the very same universe I’ve already been apart of for years and another reason I choose to play the game and support CCP. I actually play DUST 514 at least everyday when I have the time if I also wasn’t playing well…. EVE Online. I’m not emotionally invested in DUST 514. I’m no more emotionally invested in DUST 514 than I am in EVE Online which I’ve also played for years ongoing. I’m also an EVE Online player it’s what I primarily play most the time also with life in New Eden.

      While there are lots of other games out there to play, I neither have the time not the interest in playing many of them other than a short few as i tend to prefer sandbox games. And because of that I also only focus on playing a short few select games…. with focus!

  • Most of the games produced nowdays is rubish I must admit, but there are few that deserve at least to check them out, don’t limit yourself only to one game.
    BTW CCP must be a great company if it have loyal folowers as you and maybe you are right, maybe they will fix dust 514.

  • you didnt spend $700 on dust 514 you spent it on an updated gaming setup you cant blame the money loss completely on the game and also $300 for a tv did you even look at another store’s prices

Leave a Reply

