Apparently I Write Like…..

I saw this post over at MMO GamerChick one of the more frequent blogs I read and saw this fun post about a writing analyzing tool to compare your blog posting or writing styles to known popular authors. These things are always in good blog fun among other bloggers, so I figure I try it out for fun. I’d have no worldly idea who I can remotely be compared to as a real world author since I don’t really think I’m all that good at writing or style wise. I have no idea how this stuff is really figured out. But who knows we’ll see, all in good fun.

Apparently  based on my last post I write like?

I write like
Douglas Adams

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

But I figure its much better to get some form of average for consistency just in case one post is a fluke for comparison. So the previous post was compared to?

I write like
Arthur C. Clarke

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

So checking over the last 10 posts I got Douglas Adams 3 times. Author C. Clarke consistently 4 times in a row. David Foster Wallace 2 times in a row. And Dan Brown once which was for the unusual style of writing a guide post. So apparently seems I have a writing style somewhat crossed between two very popular science friction authors Douglas Adams and Author C. Clarke. Well I have heard of Douglas Adams before and seen a few movie makes from his books. As well have heard of Author C. Clarke numerous times as a sci-fi fan though I don’t remember reading any of Clarke’s original sci-fi books though I’ve seen and loved the movie 2001: A Space Odyssey and a few other TV documentaries on the author which was based on his futuristic books. At least whats consistent  is both authors are science friction authors.

I’ve never thought of myself being that good at writing in any way, but i really do try hard at it in my own writing style and thoughts. I mean I’m the guy that despised and hated being in english classes all through school like the plague or any form of literature writing. I was never good at either. So in blogging I do put some effort into my thoughts being inked on the blog, but who knowing me years ago would figure I would ever write anything ever with some form of consistency. Oh well all in good fun. I’m far from being author material.

2 comments

  • I think that’s pretty neat! Yeah, it’s good fun, but 2 or 3 authors consistently come back to me as well, and this is out of a possibility of more than 30 authors, I was told.

  • I have read both Adams and Clarke and that’s a pretty good place to be. Just don’t veer into Dan Brown land again – he’s somewhat trite.

Leave a Reply

